Neko

2023

December

Wintertime is here! Merry Yule!

4th

And so, yet another month has passed. Studying really keeps you busy! I'm filled to the brim with ideas for more essays, most relating to my field of study, but that academic weapon life really does take its toll. Also, I've had a lot of other stuff going on (ranging from stressful situations to fun times with friends) which further complicates things.
However, all that I'll be thinking about for the upcoming 20 days is Yule. I'm so terribly excited! It's my favourite holiday of them all, and I've managed to get my income back riiiiiight in time! Very, very convenient. I'm even more excited since it already has been snowy for nearly a week! SNOW! IN NOVEMBER! What a treat. We were at a julmarknad (yule market, haha) yesterday, and it's never been so magical before. It's been snowy before, sure, but it's around a decimeter, this year! Besides, there was a small live band that really added to the already lovely ambiance.
I do find Yule to be a strange season, in some ways. I am far from christian (as a matter of fact i have strong negative feelings on christianity for myself) but I still find the season, well, holy. However, I justify this somewhat by the fact that I'm Swedish, and we have a long history of Yule traditions. That's why I call it Yule rather than christmas, actually, the word is related to (or comes from?) the Swedish word: Jul. Because of that strange internal conflict on my part, and some other more or less related reasons, I'm trying to make an overly personalised version of Yule for myself, and my family, to celebrate. (this process also goes hand in hand with some strong feelings on consumerism) So far I've boiled down what the Yule season entails to me on some level, being: Light in a time of darkness, family, and alcohol. Yes, alcohol, haha. Not in a "getting shitfaced every evening" kind of way, but rather in a "we had regulations regarding the minimum amount of beer we had to brew - cheers" kinda way. Also, I think it should go on well into Janurary (or Februrary even), and start December 1st, seeing as it traditionally is a very long holiday designed to keep the mood up during the dark winter months. Honestly, at this rate I may make a whole page about this alone - I have a lot to say!
All this to say, I'm still alive! I just have a lot on my plate. Hopefully there'll be a surge in activity in "mellandagarna" (the days between Julafton (24th) and new years!), since that'll be my main holiday time this year. If I don't make a peep until then, God Jul! (God = good, not god)
Oh, also, the Gale shrine exists now! It's probably not done yet, but it exists!


November

Now it's not just fall, but nearing winter!

1st

Wow, it's been over a month! Wild! I've been studying, aka I'm becomin an academic weapon (that's why they call me Frag grenade), so my time has been quite limited. I did write an essay for the site, which I am fairly pleased with. However, I've still been coding slightly! I've been trying my hand at godot, the game making engine, and it's been fun but frustrating. I've done the tutorial so far, but as I tried to make my own (incredibly simple) game... well, I realised that my basic HTML and CSS abilities weren't enough. I'm trying to make my way through this 11h video, but well, it's eleven hours and my current course is really heavy on the reading.
Once I've learned my basics I'm going to try to make my little simple game though, hopefully with enough knowledge in my knowledge bank I'm going to be able to do it. If so, it's going on this site. The art even has the same color scheme! I'm quite excited at the prospect. My final goal is to actually make a "real" game, but that's far in the future... very far, haha
Another note entirely is that it just was Halloween! I was at a party, which was fun despite ending with me vomiting. Some of my friends came, including a really cool punk friend of mine (check out microlaxx!). It's really nice to have more and more friends who do creative things and share some of my political views, to be honest. Especially the creativity - I love being able to gush over stuff they do. It's a similar thing to me hanging out on neocities - I get to see cool stuff, I get to compliment my cool friends, and it's just fun overall! We dressed up as pirates, and not even going to lie - I looked amazing. However, I did forget to take any pictures, haha. There are two, but I guess I'm just going to have to use the same costume another time!
Finally, my brother is four years old now! He's still the most precious kid on earth, nothing new there!

Oh, btw, Gale shrine not done yet - I've been too busy for bg3


September

The first month of proper fall - how lovely

29th

Once again, I come to life. Honestly, life has been pretty chill since last. It's just been two-ish weeks, yet a lot of things have felt like they've fallen into place. The fall is very obviously approaching fast (despite record temperatures), which is a relief. I've had a final that I actually felt prepared for, largely thanks to my new coursemate that I really like spending time with. I've been on top of my studies, mostly, and most importantly I've watched 16 episodes of Critical Role. I need to get back to BG3, now that I have some more time again, though.
I am still deep in my Gale obsessions, though, and now that I've been sick two days I've started actually thinking about that whole shrine thingy... let's see how that goes, haha. It's fun to think about, at least!
A small update from my first diary entry is that I have figured out that sugar waxing is a lot of fun! It's like waxing but less painful and more like playing with clay. Now, don't get me wrong, I'm not fond of feeling the need to wax, but my very half-assed results indicate that that genuinely isn't the reason I do it. I haven't had much roof time due to the fall weather, on another note entirely, due to the stormy weaher we've been having! Fortunately, I'm a huge storm fan, so it hasn't been bothering me. As a matter of fact there are few things I love more than having a cup of tea as the rain falls on my roof... dreamy sigh
Up next as far as plans go is to finally finish my pants, make a Gale shrine and/or finishing bg3 (yeah... I got sidetracked by CR) and potentially focusing on that cloud page I've been wanting to do. I've also realised that learning some constellations would fit my current whimsigoth phase and be a great winter activity, with the long nights and all. We'll see where life takes me, is my point. Take care and don't forget your vitamin D! (* ^ ω ^)

14th

Wow, been a couple weeks, huh? A lot has been going on, lately. I've turned 20 (wohoo!), started another term of uni, and - most dammingly - been gifted bg3. The latest has rapidly become an unhealthy obsession, with a certain wizard consuming my every waking thought. I am already planning a shrine for him. My beloved Gale. (if you want to you can find a ton of posts on my tumblr, most tagged with "bg3 gale romancer", shamelessly taken from other Gale fans) He's just so lovely!
Anyway, I've played 10 hours in one day, and am realising it's getting to unhealthy levels. Unfortunately, idk how to stop. So, for now the website will be chilling (until I've finished some potential fanart and/or begin making my shrine) and I'll be trying to study by insisting that a fictional man would approve, as well as keep obessing over my little wizard man over on tumblr. Feel free to follow, if you want your feed completely consumed by Gale Dekarios...


August

Right between summer and fall - what an amazing month

27th

The last week has both been really calm and really intense (hence no webbuilding, sadly), in a way I quite enjoy. I've felt very... alive, to put it simply. Since I'm starting a new program at uni tomorrow I've been tidying my apartment, for peace of mind, and I've been spending some time with my family. Unfortunately that means I missed the initiation activities, though that partially was a mistake and partially my actual intent. Yk, it be like that. Actually, let me start from the beginning lmao, it's a lot.
This monday I hung out with my friends and broke up with my boyfriend. It was civil, and both of us seemed to agree that it was the move. I also (finally) managed to send away my letter on cloud classifications (I hope to make a similar concept a web page, someday), which was a long time coming...
Tuesday and Wednesday wasn't too eventful; I cleaned a bit, planned a bit, babysat iirc, and spent some time with my sister. Fun, and a good speed to live at.
The most exciting thing happened on thursday - I (finally) made it so I can climb onto my roof! My brother and I spend ages up there, just thinking and enjoying life. I think I realised like, three intrinsic truths of existence. Okay, maybe not, but I did realise that the sun is to the sky as the moon is to the sea. What do you mean that makes no sense? Of course it does. I can explain it, mhm.
Friday and saturday were quite chill. I played some dnd - fun! and helped my sister with some programming, aside from tidying. Oh, and trying to wax my legs. Fucking ouch...
Today I've been chilling, programming and not being productive. I did blow off plans with my ex, but in my defence his roommate has a cold. It's not too infectious, but I'm not taking any risks right at the start of the term, I'll struggle enough as-is. I'm going to be making some zucchini pie (you can find the recipe on my page) once I feel like it, and also take a solid everything shower. Mmmmm. I'm at least making myself a good start of the term, let's hope it goes well!