Neko

2024

Contents

April

Sprin is in full bloom! Quite literally!

21st

Once again I'm back twice in a month! I've just been more active in general, despite springtime reasonably meaning I should be outside more, not the opposite... Alas, it did snow a little this week, so I think I'm forgiven.
Though I can feel myself hitting a very tired time period fast, the last couple weeks have been quite interesting, albeit nap-heavy. I threw a party, which was a general blast (I've become some kind of party animal, absurdly...). My place is still a bit of a mess, but it's not too bad since I did a deep clean beforehand. I've also managed to get my ears pierced for the 2nd time, which is exciting. I've always had kinda bad skin, so this is a test to see if it's matured enough not to throw a complete hissy fit. If not, I think I'm getting an eyebrow piercing next... and then like 80 more piercings after that. I also took the first bath of the year! Like, in a lake (not that I've been in an indoor bath either this year. Sounds fake to me.) which was cold as... not hell? Probably due to the chilly weather. The point is that it has been done, though! After the bath my friends and I grilled some sausages and then we went to my place and had some tea. A general pleasant day, and now I can say I went bathing in April at least!
Honestly, my piercing and lake adventures were my main points this time. I've also made the vampires page slightly better, again, and done some general small fixes here and there. Have it good until next time, folks!

8th

Long time, no writing! I guess I really made up for Janurarys writing spree, huh? Once again my intent was to study, but I got sidetracked lol.
I've been very busy the last couple of months, doing anything and everything. Mainly, I've been getting slightly more involved in student life lately, working at student bars and generally hanging around. As a matter of fact I went to my first spex last week (way overdue...). It was incredibly fun! I love that if you really like something you can essentially force a repeat as the audience, it really adds to the experience. I've also been going to some non-student gigs, mostly those of my friends. Generally being out and about having fun!
Now, that has not lead me astray from my chronically online roots, mind you. I've just not quite had the energy for webmastering -- my Tumblr is as active as ever (loved the April's fools event!) and I've recently started studying GIS! It stands for "Geographical Information Systems" and is so. much. fun! I've always loved maps (hence the fact that I keep landing in geography courses, I guess) and this is the perfect mix between that interest and my appreciation for fiddling around with computers. I'm thinking of making some map-related content on here as time goes by. Hm.
Since I'm in uni I use ArcGis (an expensive program that is industry standard) on their dime, but I'm planning on checking out some of the open source ones, too. There is a mild chance of me writing reviews/posting maps/doing neat projects with them, I just have to figure out what when and where, lol. The main issue is that I don't want to give out information about my location irl, which makes mapping it and posting it online... not the ideal. It sure presents some challenges. Maybe I'll map my garden and make that a project, or my interior living space! There's a fair share of room for creativity. A basic guide to doing it yourself, maybe? Or non GIS mapping of it, to flex my pixel art muscle. The possibilities are endless! Point is, I love me a good map, and will probably get back to studies, now...
Oh, I also seem to be developing cold #3 this year. Crossing my fingers it's just a fluke and will be fixed with copious amounts of tea...
Hopefully I'll be back soonish! Take care until then!


Janurary

I love the snow, but why is Janjurarey so difficult to spell?

25th

TWO diary updates in a month? This really is unprecedented. Is it related to the fact that I should be reading my course materials at this very moment? Mayhaps, but that's besides the point. I'm genuinely enjoying the text I'm supposed to be reading, it's just incredibly slow to trudge through, and quite heavy. I'd rather be here, chatting away about what I've been up to. I did actually have a plan or message of some kind when I opened this page, but I've already managed to forget it entirely. (* ^ ω ^)
I'm currently dealing with my second cold of the year, which is a bit strange since I didn't really get sick at all in the fall. I theorise it's due to me being sober this month (I did say yule is about alcohol, and so december was fairly intense) - no disinfecting of the inside is going on. Fortunately, this one seems to be a lot milder: it's not making me as exhausted as the last one did. I may have passed out from it, but I'm not sure that that actually was related. The running theory is that it wasn't, and my knees just turn my brain off.
Some progress has been made on my vampires page! It's still very much a work in progress, but I've managed to learn some more CSS as I've been working, and I think it shows if you compare it to my other pages. The next step is to finish the layout and (almost more importantly) the colors and all that. I'm thinking that a mostly black color scheme with red text/accents may be what I end up going for, seeing as that's a bit ugly but in a way that is intentional, haha. Once that's done, I'll be starting to make some of the art I'm planning on putting on it. The logo, fake ads, you name it. I'd like to have multiple of the fake ads, with random ones popping up each time you open the page. I wonder if that's possible...
After that, it's time for the actual content of it. The current idea is for the page to be from the POV of a character (that I'm going to be making). That concept has permeated the entire design process so far, and has really added a fun layer to it all. The other characters being featured will be their friends on the site - not that it will make 100% sense all the time, it's mostly a cute way to go about it. All the rest is still being figured out, but it's nice that I have something to work with once i get around to it lol
On another note entirely I recently read the book Hon vars hjärta var som mitt by Göran Greider, and oh man - it was amazing. (there will be a review of it over on rambling in time) It really made me think about how I'd like to spend more of my time reading/writing in swedish, though, so I'm currently considering changing the plans for social (what would I even put there?) to be "svenska" instead. It'd be akin to rambling, to be honest, just in a language I have more of a connection to. Oh, and potentially with more analyses of poetry. We'll see! Either way, the point stands - it's an idea I've been considering!
Anyway, I guess I should do my actual schoolwork. I'll be around. If you have any css advice pls hmu haha

12th

Wow, it's a whole new year! Isn't it wild how that goes? I've not done much this year - aside from a single final - due to having an awful cold. It's not COVID, just normal levels of hell on earth. That means that I've neglected everything in my life (I even skipped a proper new year's. Be responsible out there!), including any level of self-care or cleaning, so naturally I'm getting back in the groove of programming! That's how to prioritise, right?
Jokes aside I do have some fun ideas for what to do next with this site. I've gotten to a point where I'm somewhat pleased with my main pages. They aren't too exciting, but I like them. They could use some organising, and clearer links, but the general ~☆vibes☆~ are somewhat solid, which really is what I'm aiming for in the end. I also like the way Rambling is looking. Once again, it's quite simple, but it's got some charm and is easy to add things to here and there. Sure, I'm likely to make it more interesting in the future, but yk.
Meanwhile, I find my recipes page mind-numbingly boring and my vampires page... meh. As for recipes, it's complicated, but I sat down tonight to really figure out what I want from Vampires. The original intent was for it to be inspired by old-school emo websites. Old-school charm was intended to be combined with my absolute adoration for these creatures. Well, it's... there, I guess? It has a certain charm in contrast to my other pages, but really cannot stand on its own. So, I've made a gameplan for how I want to change it! It's inspired by myspace, and hopefully it's gonna turn out amazingly. I just... need to upgrade my CSS skills. It's definitely going to work out, it's just going to be an uphill battle lol.
The part that I'm most excited for is my intent to make a kind of blog for a character that I'll make up before I get done. It's going to be the basis I'm basing the theme on, I think. The current idea is for them to either be a Nosferatu (obvious choice) or Tremere, for that nerdiness. I'm still conflicted. I hope for it to end up a little bit like a solo VTM adventure, but i'd also be open to finding a roleplay forum or two. Hm. We'll see!
Either way, I'm still alive and kickin' - as is the webbed site on some level!